Michael Carvin Experience – Flash Forward

August 22, 2014 / No Comments / Tags: Flash Forward, Jansen Cinco, Keith Loftis, Michael Carvin, motema, thejazzpage.com, Yayoi Ikawa


The Michael Carvin Experience is a great experience. Led by drummer Michael Carvin, Flash Forward is a outstanding recording of a master musician collaborating with talented lineup of next gen players. The fantastic quartet includes Yayoi Ikawa on piano, Keith Loftis on saxophone and Jansen Cinco on bass. The group’s performance is a rewarding journey through standard and not-so-standard tunes by Bobby Hutcherson, Thelonious Monk, Dizzy Gillespie, Horace Silver, Joseph Cosma. More than a mere reciting of the tried-and-tried again, you really hearing the players exploring, listening to each other and laying down some really great music in the process. Carvin and company really provide music lovers a great service with this effort.

Click to listen to a clip of “Sayonara Blues”:

Tracks: So What, Sayonara Blues, In Walked Bud, Same Shame, Night In Tunisia, You Go To My Head, You Stepped Out Of A Dream, Autumn Leaves.

Website: MichaelCarvin.com