The Sean Jones Quartet – im•pro•vise

September 2, 2014 / No Comments / Tags: Improvise, Luques Curtis, mack avenue, Obed Calvaire, Orrin Evans, Sean Jones,

(Mack Avenue)

Sean Jones is among of the great trumpet players of the day. On his latest work, im•pro•vise,he leads his quartet through a lively set of great music. On this effort, produced by Christian McBride and Al Pryor, the walls and barriers between the band are removed with all the musicians in the same room during recording. The talented crew which comprises the ensemble, Orrin Evans on piano, Luques Curtis on bass and Obed Calvaire on drums, delivers a fantastic results in concert with the lead player. Jones wrote the bulk of the great material on the project, with Evans contributing a tune and the rest being tremendous renditions of compositions by Jackie McLean, Morgan Lewis and Stephen Sondheim. This is one not to be missed.

Click to listen to a clip of “I Don’t Give A Damn Blues”:

Tracks: 60 & Broadway, Dark Times, Interior Motive, The Morning After, I Don’t Give A Damn Blues, Dr. Jekyll, How High The Moon, We’ll Meet Under The Stars, New Journey, Don’t Fall Off The L.E.J, Not While I’m Around .