The Baylor Project – The Journey

February 10, 2017 / No Comments / Tags: Allyn Johnson, bob mintzer, Brandee Younger, Chris Smith, Corcoran Holt, Dezron Douglas, Freddie Hendrix, Jean Baylor, Keith Loftis, Marcus Baylor, marvin sewell, Pablo Batista, Shedrick Mitchell, The Baylor Project,

(Be A Light)

The Journey is exquisite debut of The Baylor Project. The husband-wife duo of drummer Marcus Baylor and vocalist Jean Baylor brings a wealth of experience from work with an array of artists, which serves this production incredibly well. The vocal delivery of Jean Baylor is impeccable. The arrangements are the tunes here, a mix of standards and soulful originals, is fresh and engaging. The musicianship here is equally stellar. Among the fantastic talents contributing to this effort are pianist and organist Shedrick Mitchell, pianist Allyn Johnson, percussionist Pablo Batista, guitarist Marvin Sewell, saxophonists Keith Loftis and Bob Mintzer, flugelhorn player Freddie Hendrix, trumpeter Kenyon Harrold, bassists Dezron Douglas, Chris Smith and Corcoran Holt, and harpist Brandee Younger. This is simply an outstanding recording .

Click to listen to a clip of “Our Love is Here To Stay”:

Tracks: Block Party, Great is Thy Faithfulness, Tell M A Story, Tenderly, Our Love Is Here To Stay, Again, Summertime, Voice of The Drum (Interlude), Afro Blue (Dream), Laugh and Move On, Journey .