Armen Donelian – Leapfrog

September 9, 2011 / No Comments / Tags: Armen Donelian, dean johnson, Marc Mommaas, mike moreno, Sunnyside,, Tyshawn Johnson


A prolific creator of music, pianist Armen Donelian’s latest recording Leapfrog is a continued foray into the interplay of musicians. Donelian has a terrific touch at the keys and notes, writing all but one of the tunes on a project that speaks in more contemporary musical vernacular. His compositions have a very fusionesque quality that serves as a solid platform for the musicians on the recording to display their individual virtuosity. Joining Donelian on this project is a very skilled quintet of guitarist Mike Moreno, bassist Dean Johnson, drummer Tyshawn Johnson and saxophonist Marc Mommaas. A very worthy artistic and contemplative effort.

Click here to listen to a clip of “Behind The Veil”.

Tracks: Rage, The Poet, Winter, Behind The Veil, Bygone, Smoke, Mexico, Inner Sanctum.