National Endowment for the Arts Announces the 2014 NEA Jazz Masters, Nation’s Highest Honor in Jazz

June 27, 2013 / No Comments


The National Endowment for the Arts has announced its 2014 Jazz Masters, the nation’s highest honors in jazz. The four recipients chosen for the honor are musician/educator Jamey Aebersold, saxophonist and instructor Anthony Braxton, bassist/ educator Richard Davis and composer/pianist Keith Jarrett. The honorees were selected for their “lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions to the advancement of jazz”. They will each receive a one-time award of $25,000 at the NEA awards ceremony & concert on January 13, 2014, at Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City, which will be webcast live at and Congratulation, gentlemen, for this well-deserved recognition.

Photos: Aerbersold (John Nation), Braxton (Carolyn Wachnicki), Davis (Ken Halfmann), Jarrett (Rose Anne Colavito).