Michael O’Neill & Kenny Washington – New Beginnings

October 7, 2014 / No Comments / Tags: Alan Hall, Dan Feiszli, Erik Jekabson, Geoffrey Keezer, John Burr, Kenny Washington, Michael O'Neill, thejazzpage.com

(Jazzmo Records)

Brass and reed man Michael O’Neill had a brilliant idea when he invited vocalist Kenny Washington to be a part of this production. New Beginnings is a wonderful contemporary collaboration on bona fide standards and an instant classic. The fresh arrangement takes on timeless gems from Ned Washington, Victor Young, Bart Howard, Dizzy Gillespie George and Ira Gershwin, Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein seem tailor-made for Washington’s buoyant delivery. Elevating the effort even higher is the outstanding lineup joining O’Neill and Washington, including Geoffrey Keezer on piano, Erik Jekabson on trumpet and flugelhorn, Alan Hall on drums, Dan Feiszli on bass and John Burr on piano for three tunes. This is an impeccable recording which is fantastic from start to finish.

Click to listen to a clip of “Dinah”:

Tracks: A Night in Tunisia, On Green Dolphin Street, Stella By Starlight, Creation of the Universe, It Ain’t Necessarily So, Fly Me To The Moon, All The Things You Are, Oh What A Beautiful Morning, The Surrey With The Fringe On Top, Dinah, Nomali.

Website: MoSax.com