Abstraction is the thoroughly impressive debut of trumpeter and composer Skyler Floe. The Seattle area, New York-based musician has a wonderful way with notes and tone, as both a writer and player. The set is comprised completely of nine compelling original tunes that go from uptempo swing to soothing ballads. Floe is joined by a lineup of talented musicians that he met on the Indianapolis jazz scene, including tenor saxophonist Sean Imboden, pianist Steve Allee, bassist Nick Tucker, drummer Chris Parker, and special guests saxophonist Greg Ward.  Singer Samantha Louise provides wonderful vocals on the album’s only lyrical number. This is a recording not to miss.