Marcus Miller continues to explore and expand the emotional range of the bass with his latest recording. Laid Black is an entertaining collection of tunes featuring the virtuoso bassist’s adroit, lyrical finger work,  exploring the idioms of hip-hop, funk, and R&B, within the context of jazz improvisation. The setlist is comprised primarily of originals written or co-written by Miller. The musician lineup is anchored by an outstanding array of talents that includes keyboardist Brett Williams, drummers Alex Bailey, Louis Cato and Charles Haynes, saxophonist Alex Han, guitarist Adam Agati, and trumpeters Patches Stewart, Marquis Hill and Russell Gunn. The effort features special guest performances from Trombone Shorty, Kirk Whalum, Take 6 and Belgian vocalist Selah Sue. Another stellar Miller production.

Tracks: Trip-Trap, Que Sera Sera, 7-T’s, Sublimity ‘Bunny’s Dream’, Untamed, No Limit, Someone to Love, Keep Em Runnin’, Preacher’s Kid.