Pianist Anne Sajdera’s New Year is a wonderful showcase of composition and musicianship. Sajdera wrote most of the material on this effort which is an undulating mix of the melodic and rhythmic, mood-altering and high-energy. The compositions are tailormade for the talented array of musicians participating on this effort. Joining in for most of this fantastic effort is trumpet/flugelhorn player Miroslav Hioucal and alto saxophonist Jan Feco. Guest tenor saxophonist Bob Mintzer is among an array of players who make contributions to this efforts. Other players include bassists Dan Feiszil and Gary Brown, drummers Deszon Claiborne, Jason Lewis, and Alan Hall, saxophonist Lyle Link, trumpet player Erik Jekabson, violinist/cellist Joyce Lee and flutist Rita Thies. Sajdera has another winner on her hands.