Agachiko – Yes!

July 30, 2013 / No Comments / Tags: Accurate Records, Blake Newman, Gabrielle Agachiko, Ken Field, Phil Neighbors, Russ Gershon, Sam Davis, Scott Getchell, thejazzpage,

(Accurate Records)

Agachiko, the Boston-based septet has a cool new recording out titled Yes!. Fronted by vocalist Gabrielle Agachiko, the group has a sound that blends the traditional with the contemporary quite nicely. The songs and stories are fresh and the musicianship and vocals are as well. Musicians in the band are Sam Davis on guitar, Blake Newman on bass, Phil Neighbors on drums, Ken Field on flute, Scott Getchell on trumpet, and the group’s principal arranger, Russ Gershon on sax. The material is mostly original work that takes on timeless subjects of love, as well as a modern one dealing with the politics of language. It’s a very entertaining and really nice first outing.

Click to listen to a clip of “Words”:

Tracks: Blue Winter, Your Mama, Four Women, When The Water is Gone, Angel Eyes, Words, Love Isn’t Easy, Since I Fell For You, Now I Know, Unlovable, Yes .