November 28, 2009 / No Comments

Sean Jones
(Mack Avenue Records)

Trumpeter Sean Jones is one of the most exciting voices in jazz and deserves tremendous acclaim for what he’s doing to advance the idiom. On Kaleidoscope, Jones blends jazz with a healthy dose of funk and gospel to create a truly entertaining result. The album features Jones’ labelmate Kim Burrell on a number of tracks including “You’re the Reason”. The recording also features the vocal talents of Carolyn Perteete on “Esperanto”, Gretchen Parlato, J.D. Walter and Sachal Vasandani. In an album that leans more towards vocals than instrumentals, it could be easy to drown out the album’s signator, but the selection of singers and songs combine to complement the trumpeter’s brilliant tone on this excellent project.

Click here to listen to a clip of “Allison”.

Tracks: Allison, Journey, Never Let Me Go, I Come To Thee, So Wonderful, Esperanto, It’s Just A Matter of Time (Intro), It’s Just A Matter of Time, Say Brah, Blak Music, Kaleidoscope, The Sluice, You’re The Reason.