Raves

The Latest Music We Like

SFJazz Center Announces 2013 – 2014 Season Artist Lineup

sfjazz SFJAZZ Center, based in San Francisco, recently announced the artist lineup for its 2013-2014 Season, which runs from September 5, 2013 to June 8, 2014.  SF Jazz Center opened in January 2013 has a membership of some 7,000 members  and has been extremely well-praised by critics and jazz fans alike. The schedule of events and prices is as follows.

A FUNDRAISER FOR SFJAZZ: BILL COSBY LIVE

Monday, August 26, 7:30pm

Premium tickets: $375 includes pre-concert reception with Bill Cosby.

All other seats: $100/$195.

Terence Blanchard with Lionel Loueke and Ravi Coltrane

Thursday, September 5, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$55

Friday, September 6 & Saturday, September 7, 7:30pm, $25/$40/$60

Sunday, September 8, 4:00pm, $25/$35/$55

RESIDENT ARTISTIC DIRECTOR BILL FRISELL

Bill Frisell with Geri Allen & Greg Osby, Thursday, September 12, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Bill Frisell with Thomas Morgan & Petra Haden, Friday, September 13, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Bill Frisell’s Beautiful Dreamers Featuring Jim Woodring, cartoonist, Saturday, September 14, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Bill Frisell & Friends, Sunday, September 15, 7:00pm, $25/$45/$65

SOUTHERN EXPOSURE

Amjad Ali Khan, Thursday, September 19, 7:30pm, $25/$40/$60

Kellye Gray, Friday, September 20, 7:30pm, Joe Henderson Lab, $25

Allen Toussaint, solo, Saturday, September 21, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Orquesta Buena Vista Social Club Featuring Omara Portuondo & Eliades Ochoa, Sunday, September 22, Davies Symphony Hall, 7:00pm, $25/$35/$55/$80

RESIDENT ARTISTIC DIRECTOR REGINA CARTER

Regina Carter with Jenny Scheinman & Sara Caswell, Thursday, September 26, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$55

Regina Carter with Pablo Ziegler Quartet, Friday, September 27, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Regina Carter with Kenny Barron, Saturday, September 28, 7:30pm, $30/$50/$70

Regina Carter with Carla Cook and the SFJAZZ High School All-Stars, Sunday, September 29, 7:00pm,

$20/$35/$55

DAVE HOLLAND’S PRISM

Sunday, October 6, 7:00pm, $25/$45/$65

SFJAZZ COLLECTIVE: 10TH ANNIVERSARY

Thursday, October 10, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Friday, October 11, Saturday, October 12, 7:30pm $25/$45/$65

Sunday, October 13, 4:00pm, $25/$35/$55

PIANO MASTERS

Jorge Drexler, Wednesday, October 16, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

John Medeski solo, Thursday, October 17, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Robert Glasper Experiment, Friday, October 18, 7:00pm $25/$40/$60 & 9:30pm, $20/$30/$45

Michel Camilo solo, Saturday, October 19, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65 & Sunday, October 20, 5:00pm, $25/$35/$55

Esperanza Spalding, Geri Allen & Terri Lynn Carrington

Thursday, October 24, 7:00pm & 9:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Dorado Schmitt & the Django All-Stars with guest John Jorgenson

Friday, October 25, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Saturday, October 26, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Sunday, October 27, 4:00pm, $25/$40/$60

MACEO PARKER

Thursday, October 31, 7:30pm, $35/$55

Friday, November 1, 7:30pm, $35/$55

Saturday, November 2, 7:30pm, $35/$55

Sunday, November 3, 7:00pm, $35/$55

Kayhan Kalhor & Ali Bahrami Fard

Thursday, November 14, 7:30pm, $25/$40/$60

Resident Artistic Director Jason Moran

Jason Moran with Ralph Alessi Baida Quartet, Thursday, November 21, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Jason Moran & Cassandra Wilson, Friday, November 22, 7:30pm, $35/$55/$85

Jason Moran’s Comedy & Jazz, Saturday, November 23, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Jason Moran with Randy Weston & Billy Harper, Sunday, November 24, 7:00pm, $25/$35/$55

Eddie Palmieri

Septet with Donald Harrison, Friday, November 29, 7:30pm, $25/$40/$60

Salsa Big Band, Saturday, November 30, 7:00pm & 9:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Septet with Alfredo De La Fe, Sunday, December 1, 7:00pm, $25/$40/$60

BUIKA

Thursday, December 12, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$55

Friday, December 13, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Saturday, December 14, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Sunday, December 15, 7:00pm, $25/$35/$55

SFJAZZ HOLIDAY CONCERTS

Jazz Carols from City Church Little Big Band, Thursday, December 19, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Lavay Smith And Her Red Hot Skillet Lickers, Friday, December 20, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$55

Arturo Sandoval, Sunday, December 21, 7:30pm, $35/$55/$85

Windham Hill Winter Solstice, Sunday, December 22, 4:00pm, $25/$40/$60

New Year’s Eve Bash with Pete Escovedo

Tuesday, December 31, 9:00pm, $95/$125

Mark Hummel Blues Harmonica Blowout

Thursday, January 9, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Friday, January 10, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$55

Saturday, January 11, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$55

Sunday, January 12, 4:00pm, $25/$45/$55

Resident Artistic Director Bill Frisell

Big Sur Quintet, Thursday, January 23, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$55

Guitar in the Space Age, Friday, January 24, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Bill Frisell, solo, Saturday, January 25, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Bill Frisell with Craig Taborn & Kenny Wollesen, Sunday, January 26, 4:00pm, $25/$35/$55

CAMERON CARPENTER

Friday, January 24, 7:30pm, $30/$45 GA

Grace Cathedral

Chucho Valdés

Thursday, January 30, 7:30pm, $30/$50/$70

Friday, January 31, 7:30pm, $35/$55/$75

Saturday, February 1, 7:30pm, $35/$55/$75

Sunday, February 2, 4:00pm, $30/$50/$70

Bassekou Kouyaté & Ngoni Ba

Wednesday, February 12, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

The Spring Quartet: Jack DeJohnette, Joe Lovano, Esperanza Spalding, Leo Genovese

Wednesday, February 19, 7:00pm, $35/$55/$75, Members Only

9:30pm, $35/$55/$75

Bobby Hutcherson, David Sanborn, Joey DeFrancesco, Billy Hart

Thursday, February 20, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Friday, February 21, 7:30pm, $35/$55/$75

Saturday, February 22, 7:30pm, $35/$55/$75

Sunday, February 23, 4:00pm, $25/$45/$65

Tord Gustavsen

Wednesday, February 26, 7:30pm, $25/$40

Hiromi: The Trio Project

Thursday, March 13, 7:30pm, $25/$40/$60

Friday, March 14, 7:30pm, $30/$50/$70

Saturday, March 15, 7:30pm, $30/$50/$70

Sunday, March 16, 7:00pm, $25/$40/$60

Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis

Thursday, March 20, 7:30pm, $50/$75/$95

Friday, March 21, 7:30pm, $50/$75/$95

Saturday, March 22, 7:30pm, $50/$75/$95

Sunday, March 23, 4:00pm & 7:00pm, $50/$75/$95

HUGH MASEKELA

Tuesday, March 25, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Wednesday, March 26, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Wayne Shorter Quartet

Thursday, March 27, 7:30pm, $35/$55/$75

Friday, March 28, 7:30pm, $35/$60/$85

Saturday, March 29, 7:30pm, $35/$60/$85

Sunday, March 30, 4:00pm, $35/$55/$75

ROSANNE CASH

Thursday, April 10, 7:30pm, $25/$40/$60

Friday, April 11, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Saturday, April 12, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Sunday, April 13, 4:00pm, $25/$40/$60

PARIS COMBO

Wednesday, April 16, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

LAURIE ANDERSON

Thursday, April 17, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Friday, April 18, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Saturday, April 19, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Sunday, April 20, 4:00pm, $25/$40/$60

BRANFORD MARSALIS

Tuesday, April 29, 7:30pm, $35/$55/$75

Wednesday, April 30, 7:30pm, $35/$55/$75

Resident Artistic Director Regina Carter’s Southern Comfort

Thursday, May 1, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$55

Friday, May 2, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Saturday, May 3, 7:30pm, $25/$45/$65

Sunday, May 4, 4:00pm, $25/$35/$55

THE BAD PLUS

Thursday, May 8, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Friday, May 9, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Saturday, May 10, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Sunday, May 11, 7:00pm, $25/$35/$45

SFJAZZ GALA 2014

Friday, May 16

DAN HICKS

Wednesday, May 21, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Resident Artistic Director Miguel Zenón

Miguel Zenón with Danilo Pérez, Thursday, May 22, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Esta Plena, Friday, May 23, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Quartet with Luciana Souza, Saturday, May 24, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Quartet with Pedrito Martinez, Sunday, May 25, 7:00pm, $25/$35/$45

MARC RIBOT

Charlie Chaplin’s “The Kid” Thursday, May 29, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Ceramic Dog, Friday, May 30, 7:30pm, $25/$40

Los Cubanos Postizos, Saturday, May 31, 7:30pm, $25/$35/$45

Marc Ribot with Chad Taylor & Henry Grimes, Sunday, June 1, 7:00pm, $25/$40

Resident Artistic Director: Jason Moran

Jason Moran with Imani Winds, Thursday, June 5, 7:30pm, $25/$35

Jason Moran/Charles Lloyd Duo, Friday, June 6, 7:30pm, $30/$50/$70

Jazz & Skateboarding, Saturday, June 7, 7:30pm, Sunday, June 8, 4:00pm, $25/$35

SFJAZZ HIGH SCHOOL ALL-STARS ORCHESTRA & COMBO

The International Spectrum, Sunday, December 8, 2:00pm

Celebrating Joe Henderson, Saturday, April 26, 7:30pm

Youth & Seniors: $5, adults: $20

SFJAZZ FAMILY MATINEES

These affordably priced family-friendly concerts are a great way children of all ages to experience an engaging, entertaining and interactive musical experience and priced for Youth & Seniors, $5 &Adults, $15.
Bill Frisell & Cartoonist Jim Woodring, Saturday, September 14, 2:00pm

The SFJAZZ Collective: The Magic of Monk, Saturday, October 12, 11:00am

International Body Music Festival, Saturday, November 9, 11:00am

Lemony Snicket, Marcus Shelby, Saturday, December 14, 11:00am

Marcus Shelby Orchestra, Saturday, February 8, 11:00am

Clairdee’s Jazz Express, Saturday, March 15, 11:00am

Linda Tillery & The Cultural Heritage Choir, Saturday, April 12, 11:00am

The Bad Plus, Saturday, May 10, 12:00pm

KORET DISCOVER JAZZ SERIES

Jazz & the International Stage

Five Wednesdays, October 2-30, 7:00pm–8:30pm.

Cory Combs, instructor

Joe Henderson Lab, SFJAZZ members: $20 per class/$100 full course

Public: $25 per class/$125 full course
Special guests include clarinetist and saxophonist Anat Cohen, SFJAZZ Collective members Avishai Cohen, David Sánchez and Ed Simon, Emmy-winning flamenco artists Caminos Flamencos, and more!

The Promised Land: Spiritual Traditions in African American Music

Linda Tillery, instructor

Four Tuesdays, February 4-25, 7:00pm–8:30pm

The Jazz Heritage Center of San Francisco

1320 Fillmore Street, San Francisco

SFJAZZ members: $20 per class/$80 full course

Public: $25 per class/$100 full course

The Great Bandleaders

Cory Combs, instructor

Five Wednesdays, March 5-April 2, 7:00pm–8:30pm

Joe Henderson Lab, SFJAZZ members: $20 per class/$100 full course

Public: $25 per class/$125 full course

SFMOMA ON THE GO AT SFJAZZ CENTER

Live Projects 01: Mark di Suvero, Monday, September 30, 7:00pm, $10

Live Projects 02, 2012 Society for the Encouragement of Contemporary Art (SECA) Award Winners, Wednesday,

November 13, 7:00pm, $10

Live Projects 03, Monday, January 27, 7:00pm, Artists to be announced, $10

Live Projects 04, Zanele Muholi, Wednesday, March 12, 7:00pm, $10

Live Projects 05, Wednesday, May 7, 7:00pm, Artists to be announced, $10

For more information, visit SFJAZZ.

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.