The Latest Music We Like

National Endowment for the Arts Announces the 2014 NEA Jazz Masters, Nation’s Highest Honor in Jazz


The National Endowment for the Arts has announced its 2014 Jazz Masters, the nation’s highest honors in jazz. The four recipients chosen for the honor are musician/educator Jamey Aebersold, saxophonist and instructor Anthony Braxton, bassist/ educator Richard Davis and composer/pianist Keith Jarrett. The honorees were selected for their “lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions to the advancement of jazz”. They will each receive a one-time award of $25,000 at the NEA awards ceremony & concert on January 13, 2014, at Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City, which will be webcast live at arts.gov and jalc.org/live. Congratulation, gentlemen, for this well-deserved recognition.

Photos: Aerbersold (John Nation), Braxton (Carolyn Wachnicki), Davis (Ken Halfmann), Jarrett (Rose Anne Colavito).

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.